**Mastery Loadouts**
Due to issues related to the release of Mastery Loadouts, the "free swap" period will be extended.
The new end date will be May 1st.

The old gods of the contest, how do they hold up today? (Pt.1/2)

TP33TP33 Posts: 1,593 ★★★★
It’s been 4 years since the release of Ghost, Domino and Corvus Glaive. 5 years since we were given the Holy Trinity, Medusa Iceman and Archangel. 6 years since the release of Quake and Hyperion, and 7 years since Magik joined the contest. These are the so called “old gods” of the contest. Ask anyone back in 2017/2018 and they’ll tell you, these are the BEST champions ever and nothing can come close. However the contest has changed, Doom, Hercules, Human Torch, CGR hadn’t arrived yet and these 12 champions were at the top of their games, it also happens to be around the time I started playing, the end of the “glory days” the start of 2019.

Now I would like to look at and analyse how these champions have changed over time, how the game has changed to reduce their dominance in the META (or even increase it). It’ll be in no specific order, however I’ll put the “less capable” champions first, and save the most interesting champions for last.

Iceman

It’s a shame that he’s this high on the list. When he was introduced coldsnap was completely new, and he could put it on you straight away and do huge damage when buffed up. Nobody was immune, nobody had reduction, not even himself. Speaking of immunity, Iceman had not one, not two THREE, unheard of at the time. He also had the capability to do massive damage, and oh yeah, in a time when Hyperion special 3 spamming was the defensive meta, he could just take as much damage as he wanted, then turn it into 5%. Unbelievable.