MCOC - Way too difficult for newbs?

HungaryHippoHungaryHippo Member Posts: 902 ★★★★
Out of boredom, I started doing Carina’s V3 on my mini account. With the vast array of new champs, many of the fights are very easy (for example Kushala one shot Herc first try).

Until I took a step back to realize the skill set required.
1. Intercepting his trash AI
2. Parrying and heavy punishing his specials
3. Staying close without getting hit.
4. Timing your damage with zero to hero

While doing it, it was a fun challenge but I’ve been playing this game since 2016 (took a 5 year break) was very hardcore (Legend) in 2016-2017 before quitting and much more casual now.

Which brings me to a question? How on earth would a complete newb catch up to endgame in this game. How many months or even years would that take?
We all casually parry Photon and Serpent specials but is MCOC pricing itself out of future growth. I was trying to get a coworker into the game and suddenly realized how daunting it would be before we can even play together.

Comments

• Shamir51Shamir51 Member Posts: 884 ★★★★
    The other thing holding back newer players is that they don’t spend the time building their rosters at any level because they’re flying through content too quickly. There was a post about 9.1 exploration and how much it had cost the individual, in particular BWCV boss and a path in 9.1.3 (50% chance to evade), although there have been numerous comments. It’s a newer player that exhibits what OP has said plus everything else: thinking about the mechanics of the nodes at play and having breadth of knowledge on how to combat them, having a diverse roster of maxed out champs. I used a 5* maxed out void for BWCV boss and it was honestly the easiest fight in all of act 9.1.
  • HungaryHippoHungaryHippo Member Posts: 902 ★★★★
    Shamir51 said: