**Mastery Loadouts**
Due to issues related to the release of Mastery Loadouts, the "free swap" period will be extended.
The new end date will be May 1st.
Options

Stutter and Hit Boxes

DrZolaDrZola Posts: 8,549 ★★★★★
edited October 2021 in Bugs and Known Issues
One of the issues I’ve encountered more frequently of late is what has colloquially been called “stutter.”

I’m not a programmer, but the visual experience is something like frames skipping or even jumping ahead during the movement of the champions on screen.

There are moments in a fight when the “feel” is such that I know stutter is coming on—almost as if whatever code loaded in for that particular fight and my device are “straining” to render the visuals of the fight consistently.

“Stutter” occurs frequently for me at what I would call the point of impact—basically, when the two hit boxes of the champs are approaching each other. That is significant, of course, because that’s often the moment when a player is preparing to evade or parry or block. As an example, it’s almost an ironclad law that it will occur on nodes that reflect stuns, and never (that I can recall) to my benefit.

This is (maybe) the memory leak issue. I don’t know, and would appreciate members like @DNA3000 chiming in. What potential causes are there for this? Is this just part of the experience of playing an increasingly complex game on a smartphone? Is there some specific interaction occurring during this specific interval that makes “stutter” more likely? Is this an item that *could* be ameliorated by the ongoing team efforts to repair the game?

Thanks in advance…

Dr. Zola

Comments

• Options
    Crine60Crine60 Posts: 1,391 ★★★★