Let's make a deal, Kabam

2»

Comments

• DNA3000DNA3000 Member, Guardian Posts: 19,301 Guardian
    Mofugger said:

You're barking up the wrong tree. DNA has more intimate knowledge of the game and how it works than anyone on here aside from maybe Jax or Miike.

I mean, I've got 25+ years experience building persistence layers for CMS, data lakes, and cloud-scale analytics and metrics. This sort of thing is in my group of trees. Everything I said is accurate with respect to how this sort of data should be managed at scale. If DNA has actually looked at the underlying data model, then sure...he knows it's the wrong implementation.
    I don't think there's a "should be managed" in this case. There are pros and cons with going flat, trading space for time, and going normalized, trading joins for space. It depends greatly on how your infrastructure works.

I myself haven't directly seen the implementation. I only know what Kabam has stated in the past. However, colloquial statements made by Kabam about the internals of how the game works have been oversimplified to the point of being inaccurate in the past, so I cannot say with absolutely certainty that what I described accurately describes the implementation.

It is entirely possible that the back end is in fact normalized, and the problem with crystal runaway is not the impact on the database size, but rather the slow accumulation of inefficient uncached calls to crystal ownership tables. The game client doesn't "feel" like it is doing that, but it is entirely possible: the fact that signature stones work the way they do (or rather did: I think that was fixed) was also pretty strange to me.