How many more years you think the game will last ? And how long have you been playing

2»

Comments

• DNA3000DNA3000 Member, Guardian Posts: 19,292 Guardian
    I've been playing since 2015. Throughout the 2000s I was an MMO player. I played *a lot* of MMOs, many of them throughout their life cycles. In my experience online games like this most often die when they stagnate, either in terms of the development put into them or the new players they continue to attract or both (often a decline in one causes a decline in the other).

I don't see any sign that MCOC is getting starved for development resources, and I see zero evidence that it is failing to attract new players. Given that, I think it has managed to survive the period of time when most games die from losing momentum, and therefore there's no longer any sort of expiration date on the game.

That doesn't mean it will last forever. Rather, it means there's no longer any reason to think it can't survive longer just because it is an older game. At this point, whatever eventually kills this game is something that will happen in the future, not anything that can be extrapolated from today. So I expect the game will continue to be around for a very long time. You'd have to actually try hard to kill it over the next three to five years. It could easily last another ten.
  • EdisonLawEdisonLaw Member Posts: 6,059 ★★★★★
    Buttehrs said:

Hopefully another 50-60 years. That's how long I'm gonna live anyways haha. Assuming I can keep my fingers nimble that is.

It’s gonna be impressive if it lasts that long lol
  • DNA3000DNA3000 Member, Guardian Posts: 19,292 Guardian
    EdisonLaw said:

Buttehrs said:

Hopefully another 50-60 years. That's how long I'm gonna live anyways haha. Assuming I can keep my fingers nimble that is.